Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai Announces Tournament Field

KA'UPULEHU-KONA, HI - JANUARY 22: A view of the 5th hole during the final round the PGA TOUR Champions Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai Golf Club on January 22, 2022 in Ka'upulehu-Kona, Hawaii. (Photo by Chris Condon/PGA TOUR)

KA’UPULEHU-KONA, Hawaii – The 42-player field is set for the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai, which begins next week on the Island of Hawaii. Tournament rounds are scheduled for January 19-21 at Hualalai Golf Course.

“Each year the field at Hualalai is second to none, and that is no different in 2023,” said Tournament Manager Kelly Fliear. “This year, we welcome first-timers Justin Leonard and Thongchai Jaidee to Hualalai, in addition to bringing back several past champions and World Golf Hall of Fame members.”

1997 Open Champion Justin Leonard and reigning American Family Insurance Championship winner Thongchai Jaidee are the latest to join the accomplished list of players to tee it up at Hualalai. Leonard, who turned 50 on June 15, 2022, made four starts last season and managed a pair of top-20 finishes. Jaidee finished No. 7 in the final Charles Schwab Cup standings last season after notching 11 top-10s, including four top-3s, in 21 starts.

The field also includes seven World Golf Hall of Fame members: Bernhard Langer, Mark O’Meara, Fred Couples, Vijay Singh, Ernie Els, Retief Goosen and Colin Montgomerie. Langer is a three-time winner of the Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai (2009, 2014, 2017).

Additional past champions returning to Hualalai in 2023 are Darren Clarke (2021), Fred Funk (2008), Miguel Ángel Jiménez (2015, 2020, 2022), Jerry Kelly (2018) and Tom Lehman (2019).

In all, the season-opening field includes 15 PGA TOUR major winners, 24 PGA TOUR Champions major winners, 32 PGA TOUR winners (260 wins) and 40 PGA TOUR Champions winners (237 wins).

All three rounds of the 2023 Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai will be televised live on GOLF Channel, January 19-21. For more information on the Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai, please visit

Complete Tournament Field

Steven Alker

Michael Allen

Stephen Ames

Doug Barron

Cameron Beckman

Paul Broadhurst

Olin Browne

Alex Cejka

K.J. Choi

Darren Clarke (2021 champion)

Fred Couples

Stephen Dodd

Joe Durant

David Duval

Ernie Els

Steve Flesch

David Frost

Fred Funk (2008 champion)

Retief Goosen

Jay Haas

Thongchai Jaidee

Lee Janzen

Miguel Ángel Jiménez (2015, 2020, 2022 champion)

Jerry Kelly (2018 champion)

Bernhard Langer (2009, 2014, 2017 champion)

Tom Lehman (2019 champion)

Justin Leonard

Scott McCarron

Rocco Mediate

Colin Montgomerie

Mark O'Meara

Rod Pampling

Scott Parel

Corey Pavin

Dicky Pride

Vijay Singh

Jeff Sluman

Steve Stricker

Kevin Sutherland

Ken Tanigawa

David Toms

Mike Weir